I Fucking Called It

There’s “eerily prescient” and then there’s this [from my James Blake Says Stupid Things post from a few weeks back, dealing with dubstep producer Blake’s oral idiocy and my theory that James Blake is actually Justin Bieber at age 22]:

You know, that point where the Beeb forsakes his original fans by deciding he wants to be “taken seriously as an artist,” a move that in theory is a Good Idea, but in practice just means that Bieber now believes he is talented DJ who must Educate the Dancefloor by briefly dabbling in the current Underground Genre Du Jour.

And now, No Fucking Shit:

Teen sensation Justin Bieber it seems is working on a new album, which is believed to be heavy on dubstep. The ‘Baby’ and  ’Never Say Never’ singer has been working on a new album, tentatively titled Believe, which is slated to release sometime in early 2012.

In an interview with USA Today, the 17-year-old Canadian pop star said, “I’m about halfway through. What’s big right now are beats that are in the clubs, like dubstep. So I want to mess with that stuff, but also stay me.”

Yo, apocalypse. Come at me, bro.

/s/CLT

2 Comments

Filed under Commentary

2 responses to “I Fucking Called It

  1. sonnywilkins

    As a creator of Electronica… I have to say, I fucking hate dubstep. It’s just lazy. Anyone with a laptop and some software can do it.

    • I’ve heard that same complaint leveled against all forms of electronic music. I don’t buy it. I can concede the point that a lot of dubstep, especially the crossover stuff, is very formulaic. There’s a lot of dubstep out there that sounds like other dubstep.

      Still, I do enjoy some of it. At it’s over-the-top best, it reminds me of the if-big-is-good-than-BIGGER-IS-BETTER moments of Big Beat’s heyday, when anything reeking of subtlety was thrown out of the studio and replaced with a rolling drum build. At its worst, it’s a beige wash of wubs and screeches.

      [By all means, if your comment was sarcasm/satire, please ignore my followup in its entirety while I recalibrate my sarcasm detector.]