Cold Showers – I Don’t Mind

Cold Showers’ I Don’t Mind is a goth Camaro speeding through the L.A. reservoirs at midnight. Lights off. The only sounds are the machine-made wind and the super-heated drone of a motor being pushed to its limits.

Why goth?

Because it’s goth like the Misfits were goth.

Like Creaming Jesus was goth.

Like how even the dirty, broken-glass-covered rock of Iggy & the Stooges was “goth” if you stared at it long enough.

It’s three-chord rock that’s short a couple of chords and long on the seductive power of all things black and soulless. It’s rock that stomps all over the stage, looking ticket holders directly in the eye and daring them to break free of societal restraints and whatever they’ve got at home/at work/in their past that holds them back from doing something. It’s black-hearted rock that dares you to punch it in its diabolically painted face and laughs when you give in to your baser urges.

Why a Camaro?

Because it’s muscle without pretension. An American-made sheet metal rocket with an underperforming muffler, mismatched rocker panels, a meth lab in the trunk and a shotgun in the glove compartment.* If you want speed, you’ll get it without having to worry about scuffing up the faux hardwood finish or spilling beer all over the optional leather package. It’s just efficient danger, packaged in a damn near indestructible (but sharply edged) roll cage.**

Beyond all the stage posturing and Suicide conventions, it’s just purely and simply a fucking kickass blast of cathartic rock that reminds you that good things (with bad intentions) still manage to make it out of L.A. somewhat intact. It’s what the West Coast occasionally gives back after swallowing generation after generation of Greyhounds filled with the Midwest’s collective thespian dreams.

*American sports cars are MUCH bigger than their European competitors. The most you can fit in the average Euro speedster’s glovebox is a Lady Dillinger.
**NOTE: DOES NOT PROVIDE PROTECTION DURING ROLLOVERS.

/s/CLT

6 Comments

Filed under Rock

6 responses to “Cold Showers – I Don’t Mind

  1. Cold Showers’ I Don’t Mind is a goth Camaro speeding through the L.A. reservoirs at midnight. Lights off. The only sounds are the machine-made wind and the super-heated drone of a motor being pushed to its limits.

    Didn't I already cover this? Good tracks, though. Shame the vice principal is always hassling these shitbirds for smoking under the bleachers.

  2. “It’s what the West Coast occasionally gives back after swallowing generation after generation of Greyhounds filled with the Midwest’s collective thespian dreams.”

    This kind of writing would keep me coming back even if you wrote about shite bands like…like…I don’t even know who’s bad nowadays. Is Taylor Lautner a band? I think I heard something distasteful about them. Thank you for forcing me to flip to other tabs to avoid questions about “that piggie” from my littles, and for transporting me to the late 80s and early 90s, from watching The Hunger for the first time to dancing full of oodles of excess serotonin (happy happy) at the Limelight in NYC.

    Bela Lugosi’s dead!!!

    • I had to Google “Tyler Lautner” in order to clear this up. Here’s what I found out:

      1. It’s “Taylor.”
      2. Not a band.
      3. And who gives a shit.
      3a. “Twilight” fans, apparently.

      I’m glad the track brought back the heady, serotonin-infused days of classic goth. It did the same for me. Perhaps it was all the white-on-white action, barely covered by the translucent black capes. Oh yeah, I guess I should start labeling possibly disturbing videos as such, perhaps with a NSFCC (Not Safe for Curious Children) tag in order to avoid having to answer such unexpected questions as “OMG, what are they doing to that pig??!?”

      All I know is that I was told years ago by some punkish, Boston-based non-goths to stand close to the fire when they light the pig. And that’s the kind of advice that makes more sense as time goes on.

      Thanks for the visit, comment and compliments, JPM.

      • Thank you for saving me the shame of having to have a search for taylor lautner in my history. I vaguely knew it was a person, and had a sinking feeling she (he?) was one of those. And look! An unintentional and unsettling mention of great movie vampires and horrid ones in one comment.